August 28th primary as important as the November election

ARIZONA—The primary elections to select those candidates for the November ballot will be held August 28th. Candidates include federal, State legislative and county offices. Although the primaries are to select individuals from the major parties, Independents and Non-Partisan voters may vote in the primaries on that day. The procedure is simple. Voters registered as Independent and Non-Partisan can go to the polls and request a ballot for either of the established parties. The exception is the Libertarian party which has chosen to hold a closed primary election.

Federal offices

As of this writing the Democrats have one candidate for the office of United States Senator to replace retiring Senator Jon Kyl. Richard Carmona of Tuscon is the Democratic candidate.

The Libertarians have Sheila Bilyeu of Flagstaff running for the vacancy.

The Republicans have five hopefuls. Representative Jeff Flake and Wil Cardon of Mesa received the most petition signatures and the choice of the Republicans will probably be one of those. The other choices include Bryan Hackbarth of Peoria, Clair Ban Steenwyk of Buckeye—both of whom are on the ballot having received requisite petition signatures. John Lyon of Glendale is registered as a write-in candidate so those voting for him can write his name in the appropriate slot on the ballot.

Senator Kyl will narrowly escapes a recall attempt by Leonard Clark of Phoenix who has filed recall petitions against Jan Brewer and Carl Seel.

For Representative for Congressional District 1 the Democrats will select between Wenona Benally Baldenegro of Flagstaff and former Representative Ann Kirkpatrick.

The Libertarians have Anthony Prowell of Tuscon on the ballot.

The Republicans will have a choice of Patrick Gatti of Show Low, Jonathan Paton from Oro Valley and Wade Douglas, a business man from Sedona. Gaither Martin survived a court challenge by Jonathan Paton and is still on the ballot.

State Offices

As of this writing, Arizona Legislative District 6 will choose between Democrat Tom Chabin of Flagstaff and Republican Chester Crandell from Heber, Arizona—the only two candidates for State Senator.

For Representative for District 6 the Democrats will choose Doug Ballard of Parks and Angela Lefevre of Sedona. The Republicans will place Brenda Barton and Bob Thorpe as their candidates.

Coconino County Offices

Only Democrats filed petitions to appear on the ballot for the primaries.

For County Supervisor for District 1, the choices are between Art Babbott, Diane Lenz and Lina Wallen. Gail Dent of the Change Status Quo party is running as an Independent for County Supervisor for District 1.

In District 2 through 5 the candidates are Elizabeth Archuleta, Matt Ryan, Mandy Metzger and Lena Fowler respectively. Matt Ryan is challenged by Independent Jack Darum of Flagstaff.

The choice for County Assessor is between Christine Mazon and Pat Mitchell.

Only Democratic David Rozema is running for County Attorney. Mark Moran is running for re-election of Judge of Superior Court Division III. There is a choice between two Democrats for Judge of Superior Court Division V. Joe Lodge and Cathleen Nichols.

Incumbent Patty Hansen is running for County Recorder. She is challenged by Independent Troy Troutman of Parks.

Sheriff Bill Pribil is running for re-election and his only challenge is Republican Glen Davis who filed as a write-in candidate last week.

Democratic Robert Kelty is running for Superintendent of Schools in Coconino county.

Another write in candidate is Republican Al Dunaway who is running for Precinct Captain for Precinct 97 which includes the Grand Canyon area.

Write in Candidates