Supv. Taylor Named Coconino County Board Chairman

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. — Coconino County District 1 Supervisor Carl Taylor was named as the County Board of Supervisor’s next chairman during the Board’s regular meeting Tuesday.

Supervisor Taylor, who has served as chairman twice before, said he was honored for yet another opportunity to represent the Board and County residents as chairman.

“It is always a tremendous honor and privilege to serve the County as chairman. I look forward to carry out this duty on behalf of the Board and the residents we represent,” Supervisor Taylor said.

Supervisor Taylor replaces outgoing District 5 Supervisor Lena Fowler as chairwoman. The Board also voted unanimously to name District 2 Supervisor Liz Archuleta as vice-chairwoman, replacing District 3 Supervisor Matt Ryan.

Outgoing Chairwoman Fowler thanked her fellow supervisors for the opportunity to lead the Board since being named to the spot in August. Fowler was the first Native American to hold the post in County history.

“The County is well managed and it’s because of the support of our dedicated staff and our fellow elected officials,” Fowler said. “We all work together for the greater good of the residents of Coconino County.”

Supervisor Taylor begins his duties as chairman April 1.